When will it be enough?

When will it be enough!

Sonia Furstenau

mothers and grandfathers

This was the image that accompanied a message that arrived in my inbox at 7:32 am this morning.

This is what it has come to in Shawnigan Lake.  A young mother, her baby strapped to her chest, and a grandfather, standing together in front of a 40-tonne dump truck before dawn on a cold December morning.

I can’t look at this image without weeping.  I weep for all the lost mornings, days, afternoons, evenings, and nights. I weep because of the insanity of this situation, the colossal unfairness of it, the unbelievable injustice that is playing out day after day in this community.  I weep because all of us would rather be home at 7 in the morning, drinking coffee with our families, getting our kids off to school, thinking about the day ahead.

I weep because each day we lose more faith in the agencies that are supposed to…

View original post 477 more words

Author: Makere

A Maori/Scots New Zealander transplanted to Canada. Grandmother, academic, indigenous scholar, sometime singer, sometime activist, who cares passionately about our world.