The Courage to Speak Up.

BUCKYIDEAS

I brought up the subject of climate change at a dinner party over the weekend, giving my quick pitch about how we must immediately end fossil fuel subsidies and invest in clean energy. Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 2.31.17 PMI got nods all around, especially from the women, but my husband didn’t talk to me the rest of the night.  Later he asked “Why do you always have to be such a downer? Why do you insist on hijacking every conversation?”

Thinking it over, I realized he was right. I can be an awkward nerdy jerk sometimes. I get frustrated at something someone says and just blurt it all out like some crazy lady on a street corner.  My frustration has grown over the decades from seeing just how little has been accomplished toward what Bucky called “the most critical task our species will ever face.”

I did not choose this issue. It chose me the same day I spent…

View original post 592 more words

Author: Makere

A Maori/Scots New Zealander transplanted to Canada. Grandmother, academic, indigenous scholar, sometime singer, sometime activist, who cares passionately about our world.