Early career academics would be better off working in ‘less prestigious’ unis | Higher Education Network | The Guardian

….Joining a former polytechnic was eye-opening; I know of peers who have made similar moves who speak in exactly the same terms. I have never felt so welcomed and valued within an academic role, and while I have only been in the role for a relatively short amount of time, I believe it’s a genuine reflection of the institution.People introduced themselves to me in the lift, offered to take me for coffee, and showed an interest in my previous work. Colleagues discussed possible collaborations simply for the interest of the ideas and the difference that they would make in the social world rather than what they would gain from collaborating.I am being allowed to carve out my own interests and ideas in a supportive environment and to learn from a lot of other people who have vast and varied backgrounds. The support I have gained takes many forms: regular meetings, great communication, senior staff being present, a lack of assumptions about what I will do, and workload expectations that are in line with my career position….

via Early career academics would be better off working in ‘less prestigious’ unis | Higher Education Network | The Guardian.

Author: Makere

A Maori/Scots New Zealander transplanted to Canada. Grandmother, academic, indigenous scholar, sometime singer, sometime activist, who cares passionately about our world.