Intermission: Heres What Happens When a Piano Is Abandoned on the Streets of Manhattan

The sight of a lone piano on the sidewalk can be both sad and beautiful. So when Anthony Sherin of the New York Times noticed that someone had left a piano in front of his apartment, he decided to document what happened to it.

via Intermission: Heres What Happens When a Piano Is Abandoned on the Streets of Manhattan.

When I moved to Canada from Auckland, New Zealand, the piano that I saved up for so hard in order that my son could play, was left abandoned in storage.

A few years later he called me from Australia, asking me to send it to his friend in Auckland.  “He has two young children, mum, and no money”, he said. “They would love the piano”.

The fleeting pang of regret that I would never again see my son seated at that piano took me by surprise.

Watching this exquisite footage evokes all kinds of feelings and memories of wonder, of striving, of watching a shy young boy overcome enormous stage fright and play exquisitely.. and above all else, beauty.

Author: Makere

A Maori/Scots New Zealander transplanted to Canada. Grandmother, academic, indigenous scholar, sometime singer, sometime activist, who cares passionately about our world.