Listening to Chris Hedges in Edmonton was .. well beyond inspiring, it was deeply moving. People around me openly wept at times. I asked him how he keeps going in the face of such inhumanity as he witnesses day after day. He replied, I owe it to them, all those children, all those faces, they are always with me. I who have such privilege can do no less.

Dandelion Salad

by Chris Hedges
Featured Writer
Dandelion Salad
Truthdig
February 25, 2013

I was in the Swiss village of Begnins outside Geneva shortly after the fall of the Berlin Wall in November 1989. I spent three days there with Axel von dem Bussche, a former Wehrmacht major, holder of the Knight’s Cross of the Iron Cross for extreme battlefield bravery, three times wounded in World War II, and the last surviving member of the inner circle of German army officers who attempted to assassinate Adolf Hitler.

I was reminded of my visit with von dem Bussche, whom I was interviewing for The Dallas Morning News, by the 70th anniversary of the execution of five Munich University students and their philosophy professor who were members of the White Rose resistance movement in Nazi Germany.

View original post 104 more words

Author: Makere

A Maori/Scots New Zealander transplanted to Canada. Grandmother, academic, indigenous scholar, sometime singer, sometime activist, who cares passionately about our world.